Vote set for Alaska Hall of Fame

    Anchorage, Alaska (KINY) Public voting has opened for the next class of the Alaska Hall of Fame.

    Anyone can vote for the nominees by going online to  until November 30th.  The vote counts as 1/10th of the vote for the hall of fame class.  The first nine votes come from a selection committee.

    Voters are asked to rank five people, three moments and three events.  The nominees this year include several hockey players, Native Alaskans, runners, and Olympians.  The list includes Ally Zirkle, Audun Endestad, Bobby Hill, Chris Clark, Carol Hull, Brad Precosky, Daryn Colledge, Dan Jordan, Corey Cogdell, Dorena Bingham, Dolly Lefever, Dennis Mattingly, Egil Ellis, Milo Griffin, Rocky Klever, Robert Aiken, Rick Abbott, Stan Brown, George Nix, Geoff Roes, Holly Brooks, Joe Floyd, Jim Mahaffey, Jessica Moore, Judy Rabinowitz, John Johnson, John Faeo, Marcie Trent, Libby Riddles, Kristi Waythomas, Mike Dunlap, Matt Emmons, Matt Carle, Reggie Tongue, Pam Dreyer, Shannon Donley, Scott Davis, Stan Justice, Steve MacSwain, Steve Frank, Ted Stevens, Tyler Huntington, and Virgil Hooe. 


    Among the events nominated for the hall of fame is Carlos Boozer's victory in the 2001 National Championship game for Duke over Arizona.  The Juneau man became the first Alaskan to win the NCAA Division I men's title. 


    The 12th annual class of inductees will be announced next month and will be enshrined in the Hall of Fame at Ted Stevens Anchorage International Airport during a ceremony next summer.









    More from News of the North

    Current Conditions

    Crude Oil Price