Thunder Mountain boys' basketball award winners named

    Juneau, Alaska (KINY) - The Thunder Mountain boys' basketball team held its year-end awards banquet recently.

    According to head coach John Blasco, it was an event where the team looked back on the successful season they had and recognized individual players and their accomplishments.

    The Falcons finished the season 19-6 and won its third Southeast title in the school's 11-year sports history.

    It was projected that the Falcons would have been the fifth seed at the ASAA State Tournament had the COVID-19 pandemic not happened.

    The team also received an Alaska Legislative Citation that was initiated by the Juneau delegation. It was issued to the team to honor the players for the successful season they had. 

    TM Boys Basketball Awards 2019/2020

    Junior Varsity
    Best Passer – Isaiah Nelson
    Best Defense – Matthew Johns
    Most Hustle – Noah Chambers
    Best Rebounder – Noah Chambers
    Most Improved – Matthew Spratt
    MVP – Isaiah Nelson

    Best Passer – Bryson Echiverri
    Best Defense – Bryson Echiverri and Braden Jenkins
    Most Hustle – Wallace Adams
    Best Rebounder – Kamron Falls  
    Most Improved – Brady Carandang and Braden Jenkins and Wallace Adams
    MVP – Bryson Echiverri and Brady Carandang
    Coaches Award – Bryson Echiverri and Brady Carandang and Braden Jenkins



    More from News of the North

    Current Conditions

    Crude Oil Price