Juneau, Alaska (KINY) - To prevent the spread of coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19), the State of Alaska has issued its tenth health mandate based on its authority under the Public Health Disaster Emergency Declaration signed by Gov. Mike Dunleavy on March 11.
Given the increasing concern for new cases of COVID-19 around Alaska, Gov. Dunleavy and the State of Alaska are issuing the following mandate to go into effect March 25 at 12:01 a.m., and will be reevaluated by April 21.
This mandate is issued to protect the public health of Alaskans. The Governor looks to establish consistent mandates across the state in order to mitigate the impact of COVID-19. The goal is to flatten the curve and prevent the spread of the virus.
The purpose of this mandate is to control the ingress to Alaska from outside localities in order to prevent the spread of the virus that causes COVID-19.
Health Mandate 10.1 – International and Interstate Travel – Order for Self-Quarantine
Effective 12:01 a.m. March 25, 2020:
All people arriving in Alaska, whether resident, worker or visitor, are required to self-quarantine for 14 days and monitor for illness. Arriving residents and workers in self-quarantine, should work from home, unless you support critical infrastructure.
Critical infrastructure is vital to keeping Alaska safe, and as a result businesses and employees of critical infrastructure industries must take special care to protect their staff and operations during this pandemic. If your business is included in Attachment A, and your workers must travel to enter Alaska, you must submit a plan or protocol for maintaining critical infrastructure to the Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development by 3:00 p.m. March 24, outlining how you will avoid the spread of COVID-19 and not endanger the lives of the communities in which you operate, of others who serve as a part of that infrastructure or the ability of that critical infrastructure to function.
Pursuant to the Governor’s declaration, the State of Alaska hereby orders the following. Upon arrival in any community in Alaska from another state or nation, you must:
1. Proceed directly from the airport to your designated quarantine location, which is the location identified and affirmed by you on the mandatory State of Alaska Travel Declaration Form (attached).
a. If you are a resident, your designated quarantine location is your residence.
b. If you are a visitor or worker, your designated quarantine location is your hotel room or rented lodging.
2. Remain in your designated quarantine location for a period of 14 days, or the duration of your stay in Alaska, whichever is shorter.
a. You may leave your designated quarantine location only for medical emergencies or to seek medical care.
b. Do not visit any public spaces, including, but not limited to: pools, meetings rooms, fitness centers or restaurants.
c. Do not allow visitors in or out of your designated quarantine location other than a physician, healthcare provider, or individual authorized to enter the designated quarantine location by Unified Command.
d. Comply with all rules or protocols related to your quarantine as set forth by your hotel or rented lodging.
e. If you are required to self-quarantine and there are other individuals in your residence, hotel room, or rented lodging, you are required to comply with social distancing guidelines.
The failure to follow this order is punishable by a fine of up to $25,000, or imprisonment of not more than one year.
Additionally, the state is issuing its ninth health mandate based on the authority under the Public Health Disaster Emergency Declaration signed by Gov. Mike Dunleavy on March 11.
Given the increasing concern for new cases of COVID-19 around Alaska, Governor Dunleavy and the State of Alaska are issuing the following mandate to go into effect March 24 at 5:00 p.m.
The purpose of this mandate is to limit all close contacts (people outside of a family unit) to be farther than six feet from each other to prevent the spread of the virus that causes COVID-19.
Mandate 9.1 – State of Alaska - Personal Care Services and Gatherings
1. All businesses, congregations, or gatherings in the State of Alaska, where individuals are within six feet of each other must stop all operations. This includes:
a. Hair salons
b. Day spas and esthetics locations
c. Nail salons
d. Barber shops
e. Tattoo shops
f. Body piercing locations
g. Massage therapy locations
h. Tanning facilities
2. Additionally, no gatherings of more than 10 people may take place, and if a gathering does take place people must be six feet apart from each other.
3. This Mandate prohibits the delivery of services in any of the above business locations by individuals holding licenses issued by the Board of Barbers and Hairdressers and Board of Massage Therapists.
4. This Mandate prohibits operations for rolfing, reiki, acupuncture, acupressure, and similar services.
5. This Mandate prohibits licensed massage therapist services spas.
6. This Mandate prohibits business operations to continue at tanning facilities.
7. The prohibitions in this Mandate apply to services that may be delivered in the customer’s home or in the home of the licensee.
8. This order shall take effect March 24, 2020 at 5:00 p.m. and remain in full force and effect until the Governor rescinds or modifies the order.
This mandate does not include urgent, and emergent health care needs, nor health care facilities; however, health care facilities must do risk assessment screening prior to entering the facility.