Sitka Tribe elects Tribal Chair and four council seats

    Sitka, Alaska (KINY) - Lawrence "Woody" Widmark was elected Tribal Chair and Louise Brady, Dione Brady-Howard, Robert Sam and Michael Miller were elected to the tribal council.

    Voters cast ballots on Tuesday.

    Widmark defeated Benjamin Miyasato for Tribal Chair.  Widmark received 118 votes and Miyasato received 75 votes.

    Brady and Dione Brady-Howard both received 144 votes, Sam 131 votes, Miller 105 votes, Lillian Feldpausch 101 votes, and Rachel Moreno 56 votes.

    201 voters cast ballots this year.  One ballot was disqualified because the voter did not show his identification at the time of voting.





    More from News of the North

    Current Conditions

    Crude Oil Price