Sealaska starts shareholder participation committees

    Juneau, Alaska (KINY) - Sealaska is seeking shareholders to form three participation committees, which the corporation says will provide a new communication channel between Sealaska and the community.

    The three committees will represent Southcentral Alaska, Southeast Alaska, and the Lower 48 states and Hawaii. Each committee will have seven seats. Committee members will serve three-year staggered terms.

    “We have an active shareholder base with diverse talent and real care for the ongoing success of Sealaska,” said Joe Nelson, Sealaska board chair. “We are excited for shareholders to dive deep into the history, current business and program activity, and the vision for our future.”

    “We are investing even more in ways that positively impact the health of our communities, oceans and environment, and it is imperative shareholders play an active role in the trajectory of Sealaska,” said Anthony Mallott, Sealaska president and CEO. “The new participation committees are an important element of a broad effort to listen to, learn from and engage active shareholders.”

    Sealaska is not the first Native Corporation to form shareholder participation committees. The program will be modeled after a program Cook Inlet Region, Inc. has maintained for more than 20 years.

    Interested shareholders may apply for one of the committees on

    Committee members will meet in-person for a full-day work session each spring and fall. Committee members will be paid $150 for each regularly scheduled meeting and will be reimbursed for transportation and other reasonable expenses associated with attending the meetings.

    There are minimum qualifications required to apply for the committees. Find a full outline of requirements and restrictions on

    More from News of the North

    Current Conditions

    Crude Oil Price