Report: Future of UAF hockey in question amid league change

    Fairbanks, Alaska (KINY) - Several WCHA hockey programs released a statement stating their intentions to explore in making a new hockey conference by 2021.

    The seven teams listed on there are Bemidji State, Bowling Green State, Ferris State, Lake Superior State, Michigan Tech, Minnesota State-Mankato, and Northern Michigan.

    The press release left off Alabama-Huntsville, UAA and UAF.

    This leaves big questions around the future of the UAA and UAF hockey programs and which direction the schools will choose to go. If all seven teams go through with their plans to leave the league it would only leave 3 schools to compete against each other throughout the season.

    Dr. Morris Kurtz has been named as the person assisting the programs in their transition. Kurtz has a history of being an athletic administrator and hockey consultant.

    More from News of the North

    Current Conditions

    Crude Oil Price