Ketchikan’s Lapinski Wins Region V Boys Championship, Robinson Leads JDHS to Team Title

    JDHS junior Will Robinson, shown in a recent race, placed second at the Region V Boys Cross-Country Championships in Ketchikan on Saturday and the Crimson Bears won the boys team title.

    Juneau, Alaska (KINY) - Ketchikan High School Kings senior Mickey Lapinski adapted to his home course under stormy conditions to win the Region V Championships at Ketchikan’s Ward Lake on Saturday, sloshing through a wet-and-wild fast 5K time of 16 minutes 49 seconds.

      Three Juneau-Douglas Kalé harriers out-sprinted an opponent to put the Crimson Bears out front in the team scoring.

      Juniors Will Robinson and Eli Crupi placed second and third in 17:30 and 17:32, respectively, and senior teammate Aubrey Hekkers placed fourth in 17:33, nipping Thunder Mountain senior Matthew Johns who hit 17:34.

      JDHS senior Samuel Holst placed sixth in 17:42 and KTN senior Kyle Congdon seventh in 17:56.

      JDHS wrapped up the team title - their 32nd Region V team title in a row and 45th of the past 48 - by placing the next three runners across.

      Crimson Bears sophomore Martin Holst placed eighth in 17:56, followed by senior Tias Carney in 18:04 and sophomore Edgar Vera Alvarado in 18:05.

      KTN freshman Casey Styles placed 11th in 18:22 and TMHS senior Darin Tingey earned the last state qualifying spot in 12th with 18:31.

      All the top team members and the top 12 individual runners move on to the state championships.

      TMHS junior Justus Paden placed 13th in 18:54 and KTN senior Brent Capps 14th in 18:55.

      TMHS placed the next three across. Senior Tommy Bowman hit 19:08, freshman Sage Janes 19:21 and sophomore Justin Scussel 19:59.30.

      KTN junior Tosh Ratzat placed 18th in 19:59.94, KTN sophomore Charles Thiede 19th in 21:22, TMHS freshman Quinn Quiroga 20th in 21:49 and KTN sophomore Clancy Thomas 21st in 26:37.

      JDHS topped the team scoring with 23 points, KTN 51 and TMHS 61.

      Lapinski (KTN), Robinson (JD), Crupi (JD), Hekkers (JD), Johns (TM), S. Holst (JD), Congdon (KTN), M. Holst (JD), Carney (JD), Vera Alvarado (JD), Styles (KTN) and Tingey (TM) qualified to compete at the Alaska School Activities Association Cross-Country State Championships at Anchorage’s Bartlett High School on Oct. 9.

      The DII results could not be finalized as Sitka was weathered out. Mt. Edgecumbe opted not to race and returned to Sitka on Sunday and will race with Sitka in Totem Park on Monday. The DIII results were finalized on Sunday. Wrangell arrived late Saturday and ran early Sunday morning to be added in the scoring. See the final standings in Monday's story.

    More from News of the North


    Add a comment

    Log in to the club to add your comment.

    Current Conditions

    Crude Oil Price