House fails to elect Rep. Talerico as speaker

    Juneau, Alaska (KINY) - The Alaska House of Representatives has failed to elect a speaker on its eighth day of legislative work.

    Republican Rep. David Talerico was nominated by Republican Rep. Chuck Kopp, who asked for unanimous consent in the selection of Rep. Talerico, but that was objected to by several Democrats in the body and the question fell on an evenly split 20-20 vote.

    Democrat Rep. Chris Tuck nominated past speaker, Democrat Rep. Bryce Edgmon, but later withdrew his nomination.

    Democrat Rep. Neal Foster had been serving as the Speaker Pro-Tem of the House since last week.

    Kenai Republican Rep. Gary Knopp told the body he would not support either nominee for the speakership before the vote.

    The House was able to receive a message, however, from Gov. Mike Dunleavy and declared that they will adjourn until tonight for the State of the State address at 7 p.m.

    More from News of the North

    Current Conditions

    Crude Oil Price