Governor introduces public safety team

    Juneau, Alaska (KINY) Amanda Price will lead the Department of Public Safety, Kevin Clarkson as Attorney General and Nancy Dahlstrom as Commissioner over the Department of Corrections.

    Governor Mike Dunleavy introduced his team and said he will continue to prioritize public safety as the number one issue in the state.  He also reiterated his promise to repeal Senate Bill 91.


    Price had served under Governor Bill Walker as a senior advisor on violent crime response and prevention.


    She will be assisted by Deputy Commissioner Michael Duxbury, who was the head of the State-wide Drug Enforcement Unit.  He has served the Department of Public Safety for 28 years.


    Colonel Doug Massie will be the Director of Alaska Wildlife Troopers.  He has 21 years of experience in law enforcement.  Major Andy Greenstreet was named the Director of Alaska State Troopers.  He has worked for public safety in Alaska for nearly 25 years.


    Clarkson has been in private practice at Brena, Bell & Clarson.  He will be assisted by Treg Taylor who will head the civil division.  He is currently senior corporate counsel for the Arctic Slope Regional Corporation.

    Dahlstrom is a state legislator and is a consultant for WEKA, a security, personal safety and secure transport provider.  She will resign her seat in the legislature in order the serve the DOC.  She will be assisted by Deputy Commissioners Leitoni Tupou and Dan Carothers.

    “The depth and breadth of experience found among these professionals reflects my commitment to building a team with diverse skill sets,” said Governor Mike Dunleavy. “Combining talented managers from the private sector with public servants with years of experience means Alaskans will see a more holistic approach to law enforcement and corrections.  The team will be laser focused on restoring law and order in Alaska, which was one of the primary motivators for me running for governor. “



    More from News of the North

    Current Conditions

    Crude Oil Price