Dunleavy appoints new member to Alaska Marijuana Control Board

    Juneau, Alaska (AP) - The chairman of the board that regulates legal marijuana in Alaska is being replaced, Gov. Mike Dunleavy's office announced Wednesday.

    Dunleavy spokesman Jeff Turner said by email that Casey Dschaak of Dillingham will replace Mark Springer on the Marijuana Control Board, with a term set to begin March 1.

    Dunleavy also re-appointed Christopher Jaime to the five-member board. Jaime holds the public safety seat.

    Both Jaime and Springer had terms set to expire March 1, according to the Alcohol and Marijuana Control Office website. Springer, the board's chairman, has held the board's rural member seat. He is from Bethel. Turner said he had no information on why Dunleavy is replacing Springer.

    Messages seeking comment were left for Springer Wednesday.

    Springer was one of two members in November who voted against Erika McConnell's firing as director. The Alcoholic Beverage Control Board, which shared McConnell as its director, had previously voted for her dismissal. Both boards had to agree for her to be removed.

    The Marijuana Control Board is scheduled to meet next week in Juneau. The board chooses among its members a chairman.

    More from News of the North

    Current Conditions

    Crude Oil Price