DHSS reports 49 new COVID-19 cases statewide

    Juneau, Alaska (KINY) - The Alaska Department of Health and Social Services reported 49 new people with COVID-19 in Alaska on Thursday.

    Of those cases, 46 are residents in 12 communities: Anchorage (21), Fairbanks (7), Wasilla (4), Kenai (2), Palmer (2), Soldotna (2), Bethel (1), Eagle River (1), Homer (1), Nome (1), North Pole (1), Petersburg (1), Seward (1) and Sterling (1).

    The total number of Alaska cases is now 1,272.

    In Fairbanks, one case was identified in an employee of the Fairbanks North Star Borough, while another is an inmate at Fairbanks Correctional Center who was tested upon arrival at the facility.

    Three new nonresidents were also identified in the Kodiak Island Borough and two others in unknown locations.

    The total number of nonresident cases is now 251.


    More from News of the North

    Current Conditions

    Crude Oil Price