Champions Crowned in Region V Virtual Cheerleading Competition

    The Juneau-Douglas Kalé Crimson Bears won the Region V 4A Division Virtual Cheerleading Championships.

    JUNEAU, ALASKA (KINY) - The 2021 Region V Virtual Cheer Champions were announced on Tuesday.

      JUNEAU, ALASKA (KINY) - The 2021 Region V Virtual Cheer Champions were announced on Tuesday.

      The Juneau-Douglas Kalé Crimson Bears won the 4A Division, the Sitka Wolves topped the 3A squads, and the Haines Glacier Bears earned the 2A Division title.

      Cheer squads could not travel this season due to COVID protocols so Region V activities and athletic directors opted for a virtual competition.

    “It sounds a lot easier but in reality everyone is going to put their best routine out there and video tape it,” Juneau-Douglas Kalé cheer coach Carlene Nore said. “So that means you are going to have to tape it over and over and get the absolute best you can from all of your athletes.”

      Teams submitted four performances: Time Out, Situational, Cheer and Routine.

      Nore said the downside of the virtual competition was the lack of crowd energy to push the athletes.

      “That is hard to generate, that audience energy,” Nore said. “We’re very thankful to have been given the opportunity to be able to have a season. Thanks to the JSD and our administration who

    worked hard to ensure we would be safe and have these opportunities.”

      The 2021 Region V All Conference Cheer Team was also announced. Members are Haines’ Yzella Miramontes and Taylor Ganey; Wrangell’s Aaliyah Messmer and Brodie Gardner; Metlakatla’s Avienda Cook and Miikwan McCay; Sitka’s Reyana Lindstrom and Makayla Moore; Mt. Edgecumbe’s Noah Andrew; Ketchikan’s Lauren Scarzella and Charlie King; Juneau-Douglas Kalé’s Katrina Taton and Matthew Naputi; and Thunder Mountain’s Kaylani Tupou and Sarah Heaton.

      Juneau-Douglas senior Katrina Taton said she has been cheering for 12 years, including the last four in Basketball and two seasons in football.

    “The family aspect is exciting and the adrenalene of having people cheer with you,” Taton said. “And knowing we are doing good is the best feeling, taking the floor with your best friends and your family.”

    Taton’s teammates include Ian Bugayong, Emma Busby, Sophia Caputo, Ariella Hill-Cristobal, Emily DelGado, Hannah Dawson, Julia Domin, Claire Durling, Gilan Essary, Julia Felix, Mason Harris, Ben Iona, Aurora Johnson, Mila Griffin, Jennaya Morris, Matthew Naputi, Piper Robidoux, Samanta Sassi, Ryan Shattuck, Tessa Silva, Taylor Stevenson, and Natalie Wittwer. Assistant coach is Colby Sanders.

    More from News of the North

    Current Conditions

    Crude Oil Price