CBJ mining subcommittee debates appointments

    Juneau, Alaska (KINY) Four names will be submitted to the CBJ Assembly as members on the CBJ mining sub committee.

    The committee met in executive session Tuesday and afterward announced that they will submit these names to the Assembly.  Ben Haight and Paul Voelkers would represent  the Planning Commission, while Kyle  Moselle and Roman Montyka would represent the public. 

    Still to be decided is if all seven members will have voting powers on the committee as they review the CBJ mining ordinance.

    "We always were going to have seven members, the discussion at the assembly will be whether three will be voting or all seven," Assembly member Beth Weldon said.  She supports only the elected Assembly members voting, Norton Gregory, herself and Maria Gladziszewski.

    Weldon was asked what questions the committee will be able to answer during their review, "At the end of the day, in the current mining ordinance is indeed their duplication between the federal, state and the city and also what could be relieved of that duplication with a conditional use permit, which is why we wanted two of the planning commissioners to join us."


    More from News of the North

    Current Conditions

    Crude Oil Price