CBJ introduces chronic nuisance ordinance

    Juneau, Alaska (KINY) - The CBJ has proposed a solution for properties that have kept CBJ officials busy in recent years.

    An ordinance related to the regulation of nuisance properties was introduced by the CBJ Assembly Monday.

    The ordinance was first proposed in May and has been the subject of three meetings and a public hearing before the Committee of the Whole.

    CBJ officials said the regulations will address properties that have required years of time, attention and resources from Community Development, Engineering and Public Works, the City Assembly, and first responders like the Police Department and Capital City Fire Rescue.

    Neighborhoods have long complained to the CBJ about the time it takes to address these properties. 

    The ordinance is expected to address these problems and hold landlords and tenants accountable for their actions.

    An Alaska law makes it possible for the city to fine property owners who receive an excessive number of police calls.

    Juneau Police claim they spend a disproportionate amount of time and resources at these nuisance properties and emphasize their time would be much better spent elsewhere.

    A chronic nuisance property is defined as a residential property that had had eight enforcement responses in a 12-month period or a commercial property that had had 16 enforcement responses in a 12-month period.

    Domestic violence, sexual assault and child neglect are not considered enforcement responses.

    When a property has six qualifying enforcement responses, the property owner will receive a warning letter.  If the property continues to have qualifying enforcement responses, the owner will be informed that the property is a chronic nuisance.  At this time they will work with Juneau Police to develop an appropriate corrective action plan.  This can include a notice to quit, trespass orders, evictions, new or upgraded security measures, or other actions deemed appropriate to address the problem.

    If the property does not have any qualifying calls in a 60-day period, the count will be reset to zero.  If the owner does not enter into a corrective action plan, and there is another qualifying call, each call will result in a $400 fine.  The fine is recorded as a lien on the property.

    More from News of the North

    Current Conditions

    Crude Oil Price