Blessing of the fleet already available

    Father Gordon Blue.

    Juneau, Alaska (KINY) - The 30th annual Blessing of the Fleet has been done differently this year.

    Instead of the annual ceremony at the Fishermen's Memorial on Saturday, the Alaska Commercial Fishermen's Memorial Board posted videos online you can view from their website.

    President Carl Brodersen said four new names will be engraved on the memorial this year, James Lewis, Bob Bennett, Philip Daniel, and James Beaton.

    The 2019 names now engraved include Michael Walker, Ross Soboleff, Larry Painter, Lester Cole, William Larsen, John Pasquan, Robert Savikko, Joseph Hyde, Robert Becker, and Patrick Peterson.

    Father Gordon Blue of the Holy Trinity Episcopal Church presided over the official Blessing.

    He has offered to do house calls and bless individual ships at the harbors.

    Father Blue prayed to keep fishermen safe on the water this season.

    Laurie Gardner with the City of Juneau Pipe Band provided music for the ceremony.

    You can watch the ceremony at

    The ceremony also honored the Tlingit People, whose ancestors were the first to feed their families with the gifts of local waters, and whose names number among those on the wall.




    More from News of the North

    Current Conditions

    Crude Oil Price