Arnold presented with 2018 Helen B. Clark Award in Skagway

    Skagway, Alaska (KINY) - Skagway resident Jo Ann Arnold is the winner of the 32nd annual Helen B. Clark Award for Skagway Community Service.

    The award was presented, according to The Skagway News, during an annual party on New Year’s Day.

    Arnold was nominated by Skagway resident Dustin Stone. Portions of his nomination letter were read during the presentation:

    “I can’t think of anyone who deserves to be recognized for her community service more than ‘Mama Jo.’," Stone wrote. "She is a tireless volunteer for both the Elks and Emblem clubs, and also donates her time to the Eagles, Chamber of Commerce and Skagway Women Bowlers Club. In the years that I have known her, I have never seen her take a full day off. If she isn’t working, she can be found grilling burgers at the softball field, preparing lunch for Clean Sweep volunteers, soliciting donations for charity raffles, selling 50/50 tickets, baking cookies for veterans, running Emblem club meetings, and checking on the welfare of local senior citizens… to name just a few of her regular activities."

    Helen Clark was the first recipient of Skagway’s Community Service Award and agreed to have future awards named for her so generations would remember her volunteer spirit. The award recognizes outstanding volunteer deeds or service to the community.

    It is jointly sponsored by the Skagway Book Co. and The Skagway News. Every fall nomination letters are accepted from the public and then a committee of past winners reviews nominations from the past five years and selects a winner.

    More from News of the North

    Current Conditions

    Crude Oil Price