Alaska Democrats, Republicans form coalition Senate majority

    The Senate Chamber of Alaska

    ANCHORAGE, Alaska (AP) - The Alaska state Senate will have a coalition of Democrats and Republicans serving as a majority caucus next January.

    Officials announced.

    Friday the coalition will include nine Democrats and eight Republicans, leaving three members of the 20-member chamber in the minority.

    Gary Stevens, a Republican from Kodiak, will serve as Senate president.

    Among other leadership positions include Bill Wielechowski, an Anchorage Democrat, as Senate rules chair, and Cathy Giessel, an Anchorage Republican who previously served as the body’s president and regained her Senate seat in this year’s election, as majority leader.

    More from News of the North


    Add a comment

    Log in to the club to add your comment.

    Current Conditions

    Crude Oil Price