7 people want to be on the Assembly

    Juneau, Alaska (KINY) The Assembly plans to interview the applicants January 10 and make a decision on January 14.

    The seven who submitted Declaration of Candidacy forms for the District I seat include Eric Forst, Alicia Hughes-Skandijs, Christopher Peloso, Meilani Schijvens, Theresa Yvette Soutiere, Martin Stepetin Sr. and Kate Troll.

    Residents eligible for the District 1 seat must live in Downtown Juneau, Douglas, North Douglas, Lemon Creek or the Airport area.

    The Assembly Human Resources Committee will meet on Thursday, January 10 to interview each of the candidates and it is anticipated that the final decision will be announced and the new member sworn into office at a Special Assembly Meeting on Monday, January 14 following the anticipated resignation of current Assemblymember Jesse Kiehl that same evening.

    Kiehl was elected to serve as State Senator in District Q in the November election.

    Per the CBJ Code 11.10.040(a), the appointed candidate will serve “until the next regularly scheduled election” in October of 2019, at which time the District 1 seat will be placed on the municipal ballot for the remaining year of the term.

    In addition to the requirement to file a Declaration of Candidacy form and Letter of Interest, the person appointed to the District 1 Assembly seat will be required to file an Alaska Public Offices Commission Public Official Financial Disclosure Statement within 30 days of taking office.


    More from News of the North

    Current Conditions

    Crude Oil Price