Republicans claim control of Alaska house

    Anchorage, Alaska (KINY) Rep. David Talerico will claim the job of Speaker of the Alaska House.

    Democrats had held the majority thanks to independents and three Republican lawmakers.  Current Speaker Bryce Edgmon released a statement that the move was premature.

    A key race being counted still in between Republican Bart LeBon and Democrat Kathryn Dodge.  At last count, LeBon held a 79 vote lead.  If Republicans claim that seat that would give them 23 seats, not including Gabrielle LeDoux, who has not been invited into the majority, and Republican Louise Stutes.

    Republicans have won two key races.  Sarah Vance defeated incumbent Paul Seaton, and Jason Green, an independent, was defeated by Sara Rasmussen.

    Talerico said cutting spending will be one of the priorities.

    The committee chairs would be Lance Pruitt and Tammie Wilson as co-chairs of the House Finance committee, Cathy Tilton as rules chair and Chuck Koppas House majority leader.







    More from News of the North

    Current Conditions

    Crude Oil Price